SIM cards

Faults and Technical chat for the Jaguar F-Pace.
corriescar66
Posts: 1641
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:22 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by corriescar66 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:08 am

RDB1 wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:50 am
Just as an update, I am bouncing between no connection and showing 4G but giving no traffic or anything else. I am using a 3 card which has been working without issue until the beginning of last week so its a complete mystery. I don't understand why I can see the 4G symbol but not get the service but I don't think it a hardware failure. I'm skiing next week so will not have a chance to resolve this but I'm Not getting the error message Mike is experiencing. i think Brexit would prove easier to resolve than this but not giving up.
I gave up on 3 as the coverage around Surrey is pretty poor. I now use a rolling 500MB/month EE sim card (£12 for a year) which is more than adequate, provided you don't accidently have 'Hotspot' on and the child uses your monthly allowance in one trip watching youtube...

I didn't realise what had happened as, like you, the 3G/4G symbol was still displayed as was the signal strength indicator. However, no updated live info, the traffic appeared to be on, but actually 'expect only light traffic' message displayed didn't actually mean it was using up-to date info

You may want to check your data usage/balance as it might have run out for whatever reason....


RDB1
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:58 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by RDB1 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:12 am

Thanks Corriescar66 I will check with 3 when I can but I've only used 30mb which is nothing but noted and useful

Thanks
F-Pace 3.0D S - 2018, Corris grey, Pano Roof (fixed), Cold Climate Pack, ICTP 380W, Privacy glass, Spare wheel, Service Pack etc


June16
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by June16 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:43 pm

mike72uk wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:51 pm
June16 wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:42 am
Mike did you put your card in a phone before using it in the car
Or just straight into the car ?
I have heard that phones can turn off data if sim is out in a phone first this leads to the unsupported message.

No reports of 3 data Sims not working in Audi or Mercedes either, I did come across the same “ we only support devices such as phones tablets response ” but that appears to be the stance of all data only card providers since 2015. So the fact they say unsupported doesn’t mean it won’t work.Its just card providers are not interested in helping car owners.

The lack of anyone else having issues would make me think the car has an issue.

Have you updated to phase 4 (18c software) EPace forum seems to indicate unsupported SIM messages have been resolved in later ICTP software updates.
Hi June16,

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

So, when the issue first appeared whilst on the continent last week, it was working fine and then abruptly stopped with the "SIM not supported" message. That actual SIM had been in the car since November 2018 and worked fine. Prior to that I had a 12 months/12GB 3 SIM in for the preceding year (Nov 2017-Nov 2018 without so much as a single blip - all worked perfectly)

I did, once the SIM presented that SIM not Supported issue, take it out and put it into my iPAD to test, and it worked fine in there. Then, when I got the replacement 3 SIM (obv linked to the same data plan/account or however the record the data usage) from the 3 shop, that went directly into the car, and immediately showed as "SIM not supported"

I smithed to a Plusnet SIM yesterday afternoon (2GB/unlimited minutes/unlimited texts per month for £6.50) and it initially worked with a 4G symbol but after about 5 minutes, went to SIM not supported.

I now have a GiffGaff SIM int there (also 2GB/250min/unlimited texts) for £7.50 per month, and that seems to be working (at the moment). Opted for GiffGaff as they run on the O2 network, and my O2 mobile phone SIM worked perfectly for a number of hours yesterday as a test.

I have raised th issue with the dealer and requested they the a look, as no-one else appears to have the same issue, and they are willing to and are waiting for me to book the vehicle in.

I have also ordered an O2 SIM that i can juts pre-load (for testing purposes) that charges data usage at 1p/MB, which might also not be a bad long term option especially if I'm not using anywhere close to 1GB or 2GB a month. I also hit with the O2 sim, you can pre-load £10 credit and it lasts for 6 months I think, which would make it reasonably cost effective as long as you aren't using 2GB/month (which would come in at £20 a month :o

Oh, and my ICTP version is 18c

M.
Happy new year too.
It seems bizarre , I did find out that overseas on a 3 mobile data card it eats up your data allowance at a faster rate than U.K. , but that wouldn’t give you an unsupported error, more like a “ no data” error I would have thought. Same if you hit a useage limit it should show that error.
Have you got a monthly limit set in the car? If the 3 sim uses data at twice the rate overseas is it possible it hit that limit and just had a really poor error message? eg is itt waiting for next month?

Still no reports of this issue on other forums , Ill keep my eyes open for it though.
The dealer is best place at least they can try other cars with your SIM .
Hope it stays working in the mean time.
MY18 Rsport 25t BRG , Ebony - Oyster, 18 way mem, Surround Cam, blis, ICTP, LED adaptive....etc


mike72uk
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by mike72uk » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:42 pm

So far the giffgaff one is still working, but it's annoying as the requirement is to top it up monthly and the minimum is 2GB data for £7.50.... which is more than I need or use.

I received the PAYG O2 card, which you can simply top up and it will used data at 1p/MB, which is £10/GB......but that may end up being a more cost effective solution if I end up not using that much data most months and burst on a couple of occasions. II don't tend to use the google maps option, and the primary connection is to support weather/news and traffic plus provide cloud connectivity to my dashcam (it auto uploads the recoding to the cloud if it registers an event (impact etc)

It's just frustrating as I'm pretty convinced that 3 must be restricting network access based on the IMEI of the car.

Regards,
Mike
25t R-Sport AWD Auto (Corris + Ebony/Lt Oyster Stitch) - MY18
20" Venom's; Black Pack; 18-way Mem Seats; ICTP; Cold Climate pack; Adaptive LED's; Privacy; Pano Roof; Adaptive Cruise; Tow Bar; Surround Cam; Blind Spot, Keyless; Config Dynamics;


User avatar
Wookiee
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by Wookiee » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:05 pm

My 3 SIM is still working absolutely fine.

*waits for it to fail later today*
2018 Portfolio 25T; Firenze Red; ICTP 380; sliding pano roof; cold-climate pack; configurable dynamics; BSM; 20-way seats; privacy glass; adaptive dynamics; configurable mood lighting; spacesaver; cooled glovebox; reclining rear seats


Gilesbee1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:34 am

Re: SIM cards

Post by Gilesbee1 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:35 am

I have an Ubugi SIM card in my vehicle that has the same issue - I get the 4G "bars" but cannot get live traffic or any internet connection...very frustrating
3.0S Carpathian Grey, 22” 1020 grey, privacy, pan roof, oyster / ebony stitch, suedecloth headliner.


lozpace
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 2:29 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by lozpace » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:55 am

I had a twelve month three mobile sim which has just run out. Purchased a new 24 month one from Amazon again three mobile and this also is working fine.
F Pace February 2018
2.0 litre 180ps AWD Automaic Portfolio, Santorini Black, 19” 5038 Wheels, Privacy Glass, ICTP 380watt, Heated Steering Wheel, Space Saver Spare, 4 way lumber, InControl Secure Tracker, Service Pack.


RDB1
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:58 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by RDB1 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:21 pm

Gilesbee1 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:35 am
I have an Ubugi SIM card in my vehicle that has the same issue - I get the 4G "bars" but cannot get live traffic or any internet connection...very frustrating
Hi are you sure your data allowance hasn't run out. I have just had exactly the same situation with my Three data sim. Everything looked fine and dandy, it should have worked but I didn't get any information from traffic or internet but all looked good. In the end I got another data sim from Three (12GB 1 year version) and just plugged it in. It immediately worked and continues to do so. Before I did this I spoke to Three technical who did a test on my original card by loading it with more data allowance and it did work. They gave me a small test amount so it quickly ran out which is when I got another.

So clearly there is no hard way of knowing its expired other than trying a different Sim, of course this may not be your issue but its worth trying
F-Pace 3.0D S - 2018, Corris grey, Pano Roof (fixed), Cold Climate Pack, ICTP 380W, Privacy glass, Spare wheel, Service Pack etc


User avatar
LondonFalcon
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:24 am

Re: SIM cards

Post by LondonFalcon » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:36 pm

I'm really sorry to post a v basic question but I'd love to get some help with what exactly you get from having a SIM in the slot in the arm rest?

I'm not interested in the in car wifi, the kids would eat the data in no time and I'd rather they used their own data allowances. I'm on ICT rather than ICTP so won't use it for internet or anything.

So from what I can see, that just leaves satnav traffic info. The satnav in the ICT does sometimes show traffic even without the SIM, but it's pretty basic. Does adding a SIM make that much difference? I'd happily pay £35 per annum for the 12GB SIM only from Three, if that means the satnav is anywhere near as good as Googlemaps in terms of traffic.
2.0d AWD Auto 180ps Portfolio in Loire Blue with Ebony Windsor Leather interior


Bluefire65
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:35 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by Bluefire65 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:01 pm

I have the basic ICT as well and as far as I am aware it is not linked to the Sat Nav, unlike the Pro version. I use it simply to connect phones to the internet. My wife has no data plan and I only have a small allowance and for me it's not value for money but a nice to have with a stronger signal than the phone network card.
25T AWD R-Sport, Fuji White/Pimento + Black Side Vents, 18 way seats, BLISS, Surround Cameras, bits & bobs. Delivered May 2018


Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical Discussions”