Excessive Swirling Black paint

Detailing, Cleaning and Maintaining your F-Pace.
Barthog

Excessive Swirling Black paint

Post by Barthog » Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:35 am

After arranging my local Detailer to visit the dealer 10 days ago to apply Gtechniq products only to be told due to soft paint couldn't even attempt to remove the excessive swirls all over the body.
I picked up my car last Saturday everything working and car looks beautiful in the showroom.
Since collecting I have driven only in the dark and haven't had chance go over the car in bright sunlight.

Yesterday I visited another professional detailer for a second option and work required to apply the above products.
He confirmed the previous report excessive swirling, result 3 stage polishing required at considerable expense.
So today I am off to dealer for their thoughts on how this will be recitified.

They were fully aware of the initial report and advised they would rectify any issues, I am not an expert on paint and looking over the car it looked fine in the dealer showroom, but when pointed out from photographs with flash it shows up massively the swirling I couldn't see when collecting.

If any one else had similar problems and what was the resolution, I would be grateful for information.
Due March,Ebony Black,10 Way Jet/Light Oyster,20" Grey Blades,Pano roof/Gloss Black,ICT Pro 380W,Adap Dynam,Pract Pack,Keyless Entry,Rear View Cam,Config Mood Lighting,priv glass,Hted Scrn/Jets,350mm Brakes,S/saver,cup holder,Serv/Pack.Activity Key.

bensales

Re: Excessive Swirling Black paint

Post by bensales » Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:58 am

As the proud owner of a black car, and a detailing fanatic, I'd just let the detailer sort it out. I very much doubt the dealer is going to be able to prep the car sufficiently well for a ceramic coating. Most people, including car dealers, don't see swirls as bad. I was lucky and mine wasn't too bad, and I've since corrected it.