SIM cards

Faults and Technical chat for the Jaguar F-Pace.
Redlancer
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:14 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by Redlancer » Tue May 08, 2018 8:26 am

Got a replacement SIM from 3 and that's the same - wrong SIM card comes up, and again its a data only one. Jag had tried all my SIM cards in a car and none worked.
anyone else have issues with three or other data only SIM's?
I also still not sure why it has to be a data only card, I'm sure any SIM should work or should of been set up this way. Seen on other forums that other models take any SIM card.


June16
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by June16 » Tue May 08, 2018 1:05 pm

Redlancer wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 8:26 am
Got a replacement SIM from 3 and that's the same - wrong SIM card comes up, and again its a data only one. Jag had tried all my SIM cards in a car and none worked.
anyone else have issues with three or other data only SIM's?
I also still not sure why it has to be a data only card, I'm sure any SIM should work or should of been set up this way. Seen on other forums that other models take any SIM card.
The one I have is as above, it is data only, the same type of card but 12G card also worked in the old discovery sport which is the same in control touch pro system.

Are you sure it is fitted correctly , pushed in so it stays fitted , you’ll know it’s fitted correctly as to remove you have to push it in to release it. It should not just pull out.

I know the salesman couldn’t fit my card properly, he tried to put it in upside down , I had to show him the right way as per here.
MY18 Rsport 25t BRG , Ebony - Oyster, 18 way mem, Surround Cam, blis, ICTP, LED adaptive....etc


Redlancer
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:14 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by Redlancer » Wed May 09, 2018 10:43 am

June16 wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 1:05 pm
Redlancer wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 8:26 am
Got a replacement SIM from 3 and that's the same - wrong SIM card comes up, and again its a data only one. Jag had tried all my SIM cards in a car and none worked.
anyone else have issues with three or other data only SIM's?
I also still not sure why it has to be a data only card, I'm sure any SIM should work or should of been set up this way. Seen on other forums that other models take any SIM card.
The one I have is as above, it is data only, the same type of card but 12G card also worked in the old discovery sport which is the same in control touch pro system.

Are you sure it is fitted correctly , pushed in so it stays fitted , you’ll know it’s fitted correctly as to remove you have to push it in to release it. It should not just pull out.

I know the salesman couldn’t fit my card properly, he tried to put it in upside down , I had to show him the right way as per here.
Its in correctly, although that doesn't mean the sim slot is ok, I didn't see them try the SIM cards at Jag.
I was after other SIM cards that have been tried recently as there was a comment in a previous post that this card had an issue note on amazon.


June16
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by June16 » Wed May 09, 2018 12:35 pm

Redlancer wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 10:43 am
June16 wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 1:05 pm
Redlancer wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 8:26 am
Got a replacement SIM from 3 and that's the same - wrong SIM card comes up, and again its a data only one. Jag had tried all my SIM cards in a car and none worked.
anyone else have issues with three or other data only SIM's?
I also still not sure why it has to be a data only card, I'm sure any SIM should work or should of been set up this way. Seen on other forums that other models take any SIM card.
The one I have is as above, it is data only, the same type of card but 12G card also worked in the old discovery sport which is the same in control touch pro system.

Are you sure it is fitted correctly , pushed in so it stays fitted , you’ll know it’s fitted correctly as to remove you have to push it in to release it. It should not just pull out.

I know the salesman couldn’t fit my card properly, he tried to put it in upside down , I had to show him the right way as per here.
Its in correctly, although that doesn't mean the sim slot is ok, I didn't see them try the SIM cards at Jag.
I was after other SIM cards that have been tried recently as there was a comment in a previous post that this card had an issue note on amazon.
The issue note was against folks complaining about use overseas not mentioned in the packaging or discription which was sorted within a day the cards are ok.

However one thing I did notice the fault statement you got doesn’t say the card cannot be read. I wonder if it’s not detecting the card correctly as in it thinks it’s the wrong card ( perhaps another card has been inserted before at some point)
Have you tried , switching off the connectivity in the menu,removing the card . Locking the car for 20 mins so it is completely shut down.
Then insert the card and then turn on connectivity checking you can see the correct card.

Just wondering if some sort of reset is needed with it and going right back to the beginning with connectivity off etc might help. Certainly is puzzling.
MY18 Rsport 25t BRG , Ebony - Oyster, 18 way mem, Surround Cam, blis, ICTP, LED adaptive....etc


PhilB
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:12 am

Re: SIM cards

Post by PhilB » Wed May 09, 2018 3:59 pm

June16 wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 12:35 pm
Just wondering if some sort of reset is needed with it and going right back to the beginning with connectivity off etc might help. Certainly is puzzling.
I had issues last weekend.
My old card was coming up to it's 12 month limit.
Went to the car and no 4G. In the connectivity menu it was showing card being read and I couldn't switch off mobile data as it just said unavailable.
The IMEI and Mac address were blank so no incontrol app either.
I removed the card and it still said card reading, etc etc.
Pressed the reset on the page for the blank IMEI etc but did nothing.
Left it overnight with no sim and the next day the IMEI and Mac address were back.
Put the new card in, turned on mobile data and agreed the terms and conditions.
Worked fine although I had to clear the data usage which was still showing from the old card.
So leaving it with no card in for a while might be a good idea to get it back in order.
I can only assume having the old card run out whilst it was still connected to mobile data fried it's brain.
XE S 380, My18, Storm grey.


Linkshot
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:34 am

Re: SIM cards

Post by Linkshot » Wed May 09, 2018 9:22 pm

Had the same issue with the ‘3’ SIM card. Required activating from an old unlocked phone then worked fine.
1st edition Caesium Blue


Redlancer
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:14 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by Redlancer » Wed May 16, 2018 1:55 pm

Hi,
done all the above, left it empty, left it in, put card in whilst standing on one foot, sang a song, tried all sim cards in unlocked phone and they work
Got a new one from EE to try, cost a £1 so no big outlay.
3's show up as SIM not detected, EE as wrong type. So something diferrent.
Will ring up Jag to see if they can show me one working in my car as not convinced the SIM reader isn't faulty or picky


June16
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: SIM cards

Post by June16 » Wed May 16, 2018 2:06 pm

Redlancer wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 1:55 pm
Hi,
done all the above, left it empty, left it in, put card in whilst standing on one foot, sang a song, tried all sim cards in unlocked phone and they work
Got a new one from EE to try, cost a £1 so no big outlay.
3's show up as SIM not detected, EE as wrong type. So something diferrent.
Will ring up Jag to see if they can show me one working in my car as not convinced the SIM reader isn't faulty or picky
Yeh, I think you’ve tried all you can :lol:

Definately dealer , it’s not the cards and probably the card reader or software problem.

If the dealer wants to try your sim in another car again , just say “I don’t care about the other car I want it to work in mine 😀😀
MY18 Rsport 25t BRG , Ebony - Oyster, 18 way mem, Surround Cam, blis, ICTP, LED adaptive....etc


Smitten
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:53 am
Location: SW London

Re: SIM cards

Post by Smitten » Wed May 16, 2018 3:05 pm

June16 wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 2:06 pm
Redlancer wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 1:55 pm
Hi,
done all the above, left it empty, left it in, put card in whilst standing on one foot, sang a song, tried all sim cards in unlocked phone and they work
Got a new one from EE to try, cost a £1 so no big outlay.
3's show up as SIM not detected, EE as wrong type. So something diferrent.
Will ring up Jag to see if they can show me one working in my car as not convinced the SIM reader isn't faulty or picky
Yeh, I think you’ve tried all you can :lol:

Definately dealer , it’s not the cards and probably the card reader or software problem.

If the dealer wants to try your sim in another car again , just say “I don’t care about the other car I want it to work in mine 😀😀
Sounds like it is the SIM reader or some software issue. I have a three SIM and it was just plug and go, no problem.
3.0d S, Santorini black, black pack, 22" black rims, LEDs, Priv, 350W, ICTP, Ebony interior, AdSR, space saver, config ambient, remote release, lumbar, winter pack, rear recline. Build date Friday 13/4/18 :D


K187
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 9:54 am

Re: SIM cards

Post by K187 » Tue May 22, 2018 11:22 am

Just got my f-pace and put a 24gb 3 sim in it. Works great and also noticed it’s now 4G! I was slowly reading through this thread and thought the ICTP was only 3G.

First service due in July so I’ll see if I can get a software upgrade in too.

It seems the sim is only used for traffic and hotspot? I had thought in control apps would install Spotify on the car itself but it seems you still need your phone plugged in. The 12GB card is more than enough in hindsight. Also since I always have a phone plugged in I’m not even sure I needed that!


Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical Discussions”