Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an R-Sport 2.0d AWD Auto on order and am considering tuning to increase fun/grunt (torque/bhp).
So far I have looked at chip/tuning boxes as I don't want to invalidate warranty so will remove for servicing.

The below seem to be available, not sure if any have been actually installed on F-Pace or tested on dynamometer (do they still use them?)

Nearly every review claims noticeably improved drivability.

Previous experience of standard engines includes - Audi 100 2.4 petrol V6 at 150bhp ( eventually went like a train), A4 1.8T petrol at 150bhp (disappointing), A6 3.0d V6 at 225bhp ( went like a faster train) and Q5 2.0d at 180bhp ( OK, just) so you may be able to see why I'm after a bit more go, although I couldn't afford or justify either F-Pace 3.0's, not with £5,000 of options anyway.

Ptronic +30 bhp + 60Nm for 640 eur !
Quantum +30 bhp + 60Nm no price
Racechip ranging from + 37 bhp to + 51 bhp & +73 to +105Nm more than 1 product prices £119 to £399
Bluespark + 24 to +44 bhp & +65 to +95 Nm prices £150 to £280
TDI Tuning +50 to +57 bhp & + 83 to +91Nm prices £296 to £360

So does anyone have experience of these products or can suggest alternatives ?

Also does anybody have informed views on the pro's and con's of chip / box hardware or pure ECU software tuning ?

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
453 Posts
Ive Had a Quantum re map done but to do it they have to take the ECU off the car cant be done through the OBD port which is where your supposed to put the plug and play ones, seems the system fights back. So im guessing their quotes of figures are coming from possibly doing ingenium powered Discos and Evouques. Anyway i digress, my car had a remap then had to have it taken off as the power increase caused a problem with the DPF the car is in the garage now they have sorted the DPF ans are addressing a couple of other warranty issues. I may go back to have the re map re done now they have the required data to hopefully provide an increase in power with ought putting a fault on the car.

cost for Quantum was £325
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I had a plug in box on my 2007 S type and it was a disaster, limp home mode all the time and 1 killed turbo in the end. It was from a well know maker as well. As I understand these just lengthen the injection time so are very crude.

I had remaps done by superchip on a 2011 XFS and a 2014 xfs and they were faultless and really effective, fantastic , no probs whatsoever.

I'd not touch a plug in box again

All the re-map people say that they are practically invisible unless somebody really wants to find it and that dealerships don't have the skill sets required or the inclination to find it

I've got a 3.0D S, I can just image the gains with a re-map on that, but they're not about and not sure I'd do it, its rapid enough

that's my experience

Cheers
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,035 Posts
FSLUK said:
I had a plug in box on my 2007 S type and it was a disaster, limp home mode all the time and 1 killed turbo in the end. It was from a well know maker as well. As I understand these just lengthen the injection time so are very crude.

I had remaps done by superchip on a 2011 XFS and a 2014 xfs and they were faultless and really effective, fantastic , no probs whatsoever.

I'd not touch a plug in box again

All the re-map people say that they are practically invisible unless somebody really wants to find it and that dealerships don't have the skill sets required or the inclination to find it

I've got a 3.0D S, I can just image the gains with a re-map on that, but they're not about and not sure I'd do it, its rapid enough

that's my experience

Cheers
You would like to think that the plug in versions have been vastly improved since 2007.

Would be interesting to hear who does get the 3.0D updated even with a box or re-map and here there results as many people on here are looking at this option.

Like you I think the 3.0D is rapid enough.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,035 Posts
Been a few months now, anyone had an upgrade done on the 2 litre or 3 litre petrol or diesel engines?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
I installed bluefin plug in on 2 XFs the last I reverted back to original last week,
I had No ssues with these on unit in 3 years.
My first had a unrelated electrical problem investigated by Jaguar specialist who didn't
find it and was serviced 3 times.
The fault was a broken wire in the bulkhead!

Upped power by 35bhp approx took me 10 min to install and remove car returned 34=55 mph
From 230bhp
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts
Not sure on the 2.0 but check out paramount performance. I'm booked in to get work done.
It's a proper ECU remap but they give you a box (or send you one) so you can plug in and flash the ECU back to stock at any time. Probably costs a bit more as well so maybe one for the 3 litre boys

By end of march I will be blue to review it from my cars point of view.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,035 Posts
Mbadger77 said:
Not sure on the 2.0 but check out paramount performance. I'm booked in to get work done.
It's a proper ECU remap but they give you a box (or send you one) so you can plug in and flash the ECU back to stock at any time. Probably costs a bit more as well so maybe one for the 3 litre boys

By end of march I will be blue to review it from my cars point of view.
Keep us updated on events and take some pictures if they will let you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts
Jagfpacejk said:
Mbadger77 said:
Not sure on the 2.0 but check out paramount performance. I'm booked in to get work done.
It's a proper ECU remap but they give you a box (or send you one) so you can plug in and flash the ECU back to stock at any time. Probably costs a bit more as well so maybe one for the 3 litre boys

By end of march I will be blue to review it from my cars point of view.
Keep us updated on events and take some pictures if they will let you.
The box is hand held you keep at home but can flash from cabin by plugging it in. Once flashed back to stock or remap you just remove. I will of course be sharing details and putting a few pics up. Cleared it all with my insurance which was a pleasant surprise.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,035 Posts
Mbadger77 said:
The box is hand held you keep at home but can flash from cabin by plugging it in. Once flashed back to stock or remap you just remove. I will of course be sharing details and putting a few pics up. Cleared it all with my insurance which was a pleasant surprise.
So if you have the box with the software that you upload, could you not go around doing others? ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Sorry to revive an old thread, but I am in the USA, and F-Pace info is hard to come by. I used to have a VW Golf Sportwagen TDI, and used a Diesel Power box in it - clipped to the injectors, went in and out in 15 minutes, smoother and harder acceleration with better mileage. I haven't been able to learn if they make one for the F-Pace. The other choice for a box (which I like because they are untraceable, unlike tunes) seemed to be Chip Express, which is English. They make an F-Pace 20d box and assure me that it is suitable for the US, but I haven't found anyone yet who has used it:
https://www.chipexpress.com/products/jaguar/f-pace/diesel-chip-tuning-boxes/5447/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
209 Posts
Any updates on these from anyone?

I'm definitely interested but would like feedback from others that have experienced the results
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts
augeydoggy said:
Sorry to revive an old thread, but I am in the USA, and F-Pace info is hard to come by. I used to have a VW Golf Sportwagen TDI, and used a Diesel Power box in it - clipped to the injectors, went in and out in 15 minutes, smoother and harder acceleration with better mileage. I haven't been able to learn if they make one for the F-Pace. The other choice for a box (which I like because they are untraceable, unlike tunes) seemed to be Chip Express, which is English. They make an F-Pace 20d box and assure me that it is suitable for the US, but I haven't found anyone yet who has used it:
https://www.chipexpress.com/products/jaguar/f-pace/diesel-chip-tuning-boxes/5447/
You can try emailing paramount performance in the uk where I got mine from. They might ship a pre configured box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts
chimchimcheroo said:
Any updates on these from anyone?

I'm definitely interested but would like feedback from others that have experienced the results
Only way is to try it :)
I took the plunge on the 3.0 petrol version and I like it. The fact I can just reflash and take it off anytime I like is great. Before Imservice the car I removed it. Can put back on after.
The diesel ones give more torque and improved MPG more than often.
Maybe have a look at paramount performance and see what they say. If they have done a 2 litre already they will have the map and can just post a box out for your car I'd imagine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
209 Posts
Mbadger77 said:
chimchimcheroo said:
Any updates on these from anyone?

I'm definitely interested but would like feedback from others that have experienced the results
Only way is to try it :)
I took the plunge on the 3.0 petrol version and I like it. The fact I can just reflash and take it off anytime I like is great. Before Imservice the car I removed it. Can put back on after.
The diesel ones give more torque and improved MPG more than often.
Maybe have a look at paramount performance and see what they say. If they have done a 2 litre already they will have the map and can just post a box out for your car I'd imagine.
I'll contact them thanks

Have you got shares in them 😂
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,073 Posts
chimchimcheroo said:
Mbadger77 said:
chimchimcheroo said:
Any updates on these from anyone?

I'm definitely interested but would like feedback from others that have experienced the results
Only way is to try it :)
I took the plunge on the 3.0 petrol version and I like it. The fact I can just reflash and take it off anytime I like is great. Before Imservice the car I removed it. Can put back on after.
The diesel ones give more torque and improved MPG more than often.
Maybe have a look at paramount performance and see what they say. If they have done a 2 litre already they will have the map and can just post a box out for your car I'd imagine.
I'll contact them thanks

Have you got shares in them 😂
lol you'd think but they did a decent job on my car, the box I quite like though it's a bit "mental caffeine fuelled" in dynamic but the diesel ones will be ideal. They also gave some after service several months later so thumbs up from me and long standing Jag professionals with a proper solution.
See what they say. I dealt with Alisdair who was pretty good on the sales side but also spoken to the tech guys etc and seem to know their stuff.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
I enquired about a remap at Celtic tuning whom offer 340bhp and torque increase from 516 - 565lbft for £425

I've only experienced this once before on my BMW 530d and the results were incredible.

Abit more torque might help the car when pulling off in second is my thinking!!
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top