Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Currently have the 3.0d S on order.

At first this seemed an easy choice. I have been a diesel driver for 10 years + now, so used to the characteristics and decent fuel economy. I also assumed the running costs of the petrol would be a bit frightening (am used to paying £200 a year insurance, £120 a year VED and do about 12k miles a year).
When I checked out prospective car insurance for the 3.0d a couple of months ago I was getting quotes of around £560 and assumed it would probably more for the petrol. Just ran another search and it's now coming in at £250 a year for the diesel and amazingly £240 a year for the petrol.
VED for the diesel is £180 a year and for the petrol its (if I am reading this correctly) £300 a year - so basically £10 per month more - which when you consider the cost of purchase and fuel is nothing.
Purchase price for the two models is the same - so it really comes down to the difference in fuel cost - and of course which one I will enjoy driving more.
So perhaps DAL can help me here: what is the average mileage you can achieve in the petrol when not driven completely silly?!
If it's around 25mpg, then I'm assuming this will be around 10mpg less than the diesel - so I reckon about an extra £55 a month on fuel. So all in about an extra £65 a month in running costs.
So the question is - would I enjoy it more than the diesel, enough to make me want to pay the extra. As we know - there are no petrol versions around for me to try it so I need to ask the opinion of others.
The videos showing the exhaust sound, sound amazing, but when driven conservatively (which I am known to do occasionally) will it be quite civilised and quiet - or will I begin to tire of the sports car sound?
I also plan to keep the car for a good few years, so maybe once the 5 year service plan expires, maybe the servicing costs could be a bit scary.
Any thoughts?

·
Registered