Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unexpected turn of events this week. As some of you know, a key element underpinning the QA and seamless ownership experience for me and my potential F-pace was my dealer. I have done business with them for ten years. But I received a call to explain that they have sold the Jaguar side of the business to Lloyds Kelso (the LR dealer) as of January. And so my order is transferred to them too.

Not great TBH. There goes my reliable, personal and trusty dealership that is a few minutes away from where I live. Now the dealer is about 40mins away and I have no experience of doing business with them.

However, I have the option to bail out and receive my deposit back. I am weighing it up across the weekend. The fragile nature of these cars is freaking me out and, as beautiful as they are, in S trim they are jolly expensive with absolutely no discounts whatsoever. I wonder if I should take the exit opportunity?

Options include continuing with my 2014 Volvo XC60 which has been pretty reliable since Volvo finally found a proper fix for the EGR cooler issue earlier this year. The local dealer is continuing with the Volvo franchise. It's the cheapest option, although not the most exciting. I would hang on to it for a couple more years and then sell it privately before buying something else - maybe an F-pace with better build quality and some incentives by then.

Option two is to find another car. That's what I will be kicking around in my head this weekend. Can't think what right now but the money I am spending on the F-pace is a serious pile of cash so it makes sense to take stock again.