Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haven't been on the forum for a while. Been coming to terms with my decision to cancel my order. It was nothing to do with second thoughts or worries about the snags experienced by others.
In the end it was more about the brexit vote (I didn't see that coming - I thought most people would chicken out at the crunch time).
I work in the uk automotive industry and if the major auto makers started to leave then financially I would be in trouble. So given the amount of cash it needed me to borrow I couldn't justify the risk given current uncertainty - especially as I'm currently only 3 years from paying off the mortgage.
I think things will be ok once things settle down and if that's the case then I'll be back (wonder if I'd make the same choices?).
I cling to the hope that by then jaguar will be more open to discounts and maybe there will be more flexibility on options.
So it still hurts when I see others excitedly getting theirs ( feels a bit pathetically like getting dumped!) but I hope you enjoy your cars and get huge pleasure from your ownership.
Maybe I shall join you someday.
Cheers.

·
Super Moderator
1,953 Posts
It takes a lot to back out of a purchase like this, a lot of deep soul searching and introspection. Uncertainty is a corrosive sentiment which could actually bring about a some self-fulfilling prophecies if everyone were to succumb, but for what it's worth I think you've made the right decision if those are your reasons. As you pointed out, you can always jump back into the swim if the looming dark economic clouds recede . . hey, anyone up for a mixed metaphor? ;)

Good luck with whatever happens, may I just say, it sure has been 'bonkers'! See you around again soon I hope.

·
Registered
2,073 Posts